The main content area
  • Share:
  • Plurk
  • twitter
  • letter
The importance of prenatal exams cannot be overemphasized. They provide for early detection of abnormalities in the mother and fetus and increase the likelihood of timely intervention to create the optimal chance for delivery of a healthy baby.
It is suggested that a woman receive 15 prenatal exams over the course of a normal pregnancy (of which the National Health Insurance Program (NHIP) provides payment for 10). That number may be increased for high risk pregnancies or pregnancies with complications. The Department of Health (DOH) is pushing forward with a national prenatal congenital disorder diagnostic services network. This includes amniocentesis option for women aged 34 and above to detect chromosomal defects and testing for a variety of genetic disorders
Modify Date:2015/01/26 Publish Date:2015/01/26